JOURNAL WEEK

Daily food for the Homeless from FEEDING THE HUNGRY PROJECT

Daily food for the Homeless from FEEDING THE HUNGRY PROJECT

His troubled mind shows in his squaller surroundings

His troubled mind shows in his squaller surroundings

Monday February 25, 2013- Made an extra goodie for Rick, if he shows up. Must pick up sandwich meat and bread while out. Three packs are spoken for already and I have three blocks to pass through before reaching the couple. Still looking for Rick..I be darn there he is pushing his grocery cart and talking to the air. Now he sees me..making him smile as he gets his special pack ( even put his name on the plastic bag). On my way to find the couple.. which I do. All gone until tomorrow.

Tuesday February 26, 2013- Things seemed topsy- turvy starting off, people I needed to reach out to were on the opposite side of the street. I decided not to try zig zag across the busy avenue and I’m glad I didn’t, Frankie appears out of nowhere with his ‘briefcase’ ready for lunch. I looked back after walking away and saw him tuck the pack inside his case like he was leaving for work, he did open the water for a drink. Trying to keep an eye out for Rick before I passed out all the food…Rachel saw me at the top of the street where they squat and met me to receive their packs. Older man I’ve given food to before was fixing his over turned cart when I approached him. Thanking me he asked, “What Church do I belong to?” ” “I don’t telling him, I carry my Church with me!” Came upon another sleeper who was quite dirty and riddled with sores,he was takened back that I was speaking to him and standing close. Offering him food brought him to a sit up position with sincere gratitude!

Wednesday February 27, 2013- Today changed the menu in the food pack instead of peanut butter crackers I substituted different chips for the snack. When Rachel saw this change she said”Oh yum!” One forgets how a simple treat can bring delight…think about how you feel when you get something outside the ordinary with your meal. Keeping an eye out for Rick today so far no such luck. Everyone today except Rachel is new and food is gone already. Can’t add more packs as I am stretching the food as it is now ..have to go by grocers to get more water before going home.

Thursday February 28, 2013- Many are out today can’t get the food out to one when another is waiting in line. Need to hold out two packs for the couple remembering they get their food stamps on the second of the month. Need to get another 6 pack of water before going home, wish I could carry more than 6 pack at a time. Finished early today and on my way to catch my bus when I ran into a friend. while talking we saw so many people pushing carts so many.

Friday March 1, 2013- The last day of this week for the Project, trying to find the most needed on the street with Spirits guidance. With so many and so little to go around, I look for the ones soiled the most.. these are the people not approachable by people giving out change, so they don’t eat. Have the packs for the couple and keeping a lookout for Rick. Don’t know if the full moon’s energy is still lingering because the last few days many on the street are mentally troubled than usual. Of course at the end of my day I hear a voice saying, “excuse me”. Turning around there was Rick, he was not pleased when I told him the food was gone.

There is enough money (50.00 dollars) left in funding for the next two weeks, bringing this journey to a close. Those who have repeatedly sponcered this Project, Thank you!!! However, you have done your part and we have kept over 1100 people fed! May you be Blessed with Spirit’s grace..

Blessings All
wennyeedwards@comcast.net
P/W FEEDING THE HUNGRY 120 PORTOLA DR. #12 SFCA, 94131

tally 1159

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

