TENDER MOMENTS on the STREET

The street can rob you of many things as suspected but to find one thing that you would think elusive.. those tender moments. I come across many as I have mention before who are fighting demons of sorts. So when I meet those that are visibly injured and in a way step out of their misery welcoming me with smiles, gratitude, home-made presents and more.

Sitting in a wheelchair was a man( about 60 years of age) with no shirt just pants. I approached him to ask “If he needed food and/or water, because I was passing them out”. Not really understanding what he was hearing asked me what I said. I repeated my statement, looking at me closely he said”yes he would”. As I was reaching for the water and pack he asked me what organization I belonged too. I explain there is no organization just me and a few friends that give to feed those living on the street. To my surprise he said, ” Let me give you something to help” which my response was “No sir but thank you anyway it would kind of  defeat the purpose to charge you for the food. If you can pay it forward to someone else on the street needing help, that will be my payback”  Thanking me sincerely and asking Spirit to bless me was more meaningful than the money.

While I was out Friday my heel got jammed in a crack in the sidewalk and no matter how hard I tried I could not dislodge it. Struggling for several seconds the ‘washed’ walk pass me without any help and trying to balance myself with my cane and the cart. A man comes up who sells street sheets (homeless news to earn money) got down on his knees and pull loose my shoe. Again not one of those in my community stopped to help me.

That same day I finish passing out the food and needed to pick up supplies for the next day at our local Safeway. Leaving the store I came upon someone I had given food earlier, I told him I was ready now to make more food for tomorrow. He remarked how expensive it was for me to buy food there to give away and why not go to Costco. “I don’t have a car and the other discount store is over a mile to walk to it.. so Safeway is it.” After his expletive he said,”God Bless You” and I said, “Spirit has” smiling…

*This is not just a San Francisco Project that may keep you from donating, this is an American problem and I am beginning here. It would be the same if it is another country you would help feed knowing there is hunger. 

Tally 729  

donations needed please  P/W FEEDING THE HUNGRY  120 PORTOLA DR #12

SFCA, 94131

wennyeedwards@comcast.net

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

