THANK YOU..SANDWICH LADY

This pass week was filled with awesomeness and heat exhaustion. I was prayed over when out delivery food by two deacons from a neighborhood church. They were out bringing the ‘word’ to those living on the streets as well informing them of meals served once a week at the church. Finding out how their operation is set up was fine in it self but I did not like the fact they asked for ID. With all this political nonsense about voter ID.. my knickers got in a bunch! “Why do they need ID to eat?” I asked, they really did not have a workable response. I ended up telling them to get rid of that practice as it only makes it more difficult and turns off  those hungry from trying to get a meal. Many on the street do not have ID, having been lost or stolen. Many are so filthy that they don’t want to go inside of a structured place with rules. I explained all of this to them so they could understand and it needs to be done more often than once a week . People need to eat daily which is the reason I am out there five days a week, on the weekends more people eat out and will share restaurant left-overs.

The past week was San Francisco’s summer temperature , 85 one day 95 the next. Thinking I would get out and give water to those on the street as long as I could hold out was not a smart idea . There is a reason they say extreme heat is dangerous for children, elderly and pets. I got hit with heat exhaustion, putting me inside for a day.

When I did return to the ‘streets’ I received my street name, ‘the sandwich lady’..I like it. I notice how my innocence has change to a no-nonsense lady. The different pathologies I am running across is teaching me how to handle them coming from the nice school mum , the friend to the mother figure.

Volunteering at the Dems Headquarters is helping me to advocate for those on the streets.. after all every bit will help us along the way. I will start keeping a count of  people living on our neighborhood streets per day. I do keep a tally on how many we feed which is just a drop in the bucket. I see as many I could not feed at the end of my allotment. If it were not for those who are generous, kind, compassionate, loving and blessed we would not have gotten this far. The 685 to date would be scavenging ( if lucky) for bottles , trash diving or trying to wait out for the weekly meal at churches..

Many thanks to Roxi, for donating again to the Food Project..I love you young lady!

Blessings All

Tally 685 to date

donations appreciated- wennyeedwards@comcast.net general partner

P/W  FEEDING THE HUNGRY -120 PORTOLA DR.  #12

SFCA,   94131

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

