Soooo PUMPED

I experienced a day filled with excitement ( seeing the space shuttle pass outside of my window), smiles and hope! When I got off the bus I could feel in the air certain electricity. Pulling my cart down the street filled with the food packs but only a couple of bottles of water again. I passed out the first pack a few feet after getting off the bus to a man who was trying to walk away from me but stopped when he heard me say, “Would you like a sandwich and water?”  Quickly I gave both to him so he would not think I wanted something for the food. After leaving him I found myself in front of the new President Obama’s headquarters. I looked in the window as I tried dodging the outside balloons to show the grand opening for the site. Three women came out of the building walking slowly and talking, trying to pass them was tricky. Approaching were two young men who were apparently living on the street and trying to discreetly ask if they needed food was overheard by the women. They gladly accepted with a strong thank you, leaving them I again walked up on the women. Passing them with a nod I saw the guy I called “Snaggatooth” . I was determined I would introduce myself  formally and get his name but the women were still close so I spoke to him and asked if he would like lunch today. He gave me a yes and I told him I didn’t have any water today. At that time the women were beside us and offered him a half bottle of water she was drinking from. I told him to have a safe weekend and left. The women complimented me on what I was doing which now angers me.  I said , “It’s not I am nice, it’s the fact people are hungry and living badly on the street. I do this  five days a week ladies and we need more to do the same.”  Agreeing, they went their way and I continued until the last pack was gone.

Finishing up earlier than usual, I headed back to the Democratic headquarters . Passing “Snaggatooth” again ( noticed he had not had a drink out of the water bottle) this time I would introduce myself  and got his name which is “Rick”. We said our goodbyes and I went straight away to the headquarters. Arriving there I  asked several  questions and looked around making a decision to volunteer for the team. This will work very well for the campaign as well for the food project. I was told I had just missed the Mayor of San Francisco , whom I have emailed asking for help in feeding his citizens or have workable water fountains around the city. I was given a lead from the director of the headquarters to try the Open Hand organization. Every bit is helpful…

Tally -618

Blessings All

Next Installation: coming soon

donations needed and appreciated P/W FEEDING THE HUNGRY 120 Portola Dr. 12 SFCA, 94131 wennyeedwards@comcast.net  

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

