Lunar….Toons

As we prepare to greet Grandma Moon in Aquarius tomorrow, her moon dust fell upon Earth  today. I began my journey meeting a man with earphones in his ears sitting on a retaining wall attached to a gas station. As I came around and was face to face with him I could see he was disturbed and only listening to the music inside of his head. I asked anyway if he needed food and water, he didn’t seem to understand what I was offering. So taking out a food pack and showing him he attempt to reach inside of the food bag. Quickly I backed away from him which tickled him. One block away was another man very dirty sitting on a bench outside of a café. I inquired if he wanted food or bottled water, his reply “yes put it over there” (pointing to a space next to him). A little stunned I asked, ” Why don’t you take it?” Nonchalantly he said, “I don’t want to” , I place the sandwich where he had pointed and left.

I needed to find people who were at least marginal in their actions and I did. Several people asked for food when they saw me giving food to a very intoxicated man. I was glad I was there to feed them for what ever the demons might be. Now I have only one pack left and was looking for a person like I saw yesterday taking food out of the garbage on the street. So I doubled back on the opposite side of the street to find that person..what I came across was the scene that plays out all over our cities.  People asking for money and when I was asked for a quarter, I told them I do not give out money but I have one sandwich and a bottle water. They immediately accepted gladly which was satisfying to me knowing the hunger was taken care of for a while. 

The time was quick out on the street and I got home in time to receive a call from one of the organizations responsible for those who cannot afford to eat nutritionally. I had waited for that call back for about two weeks and for what? To be told I would have to submit a proposal to be considered for a Grant . Which does not guarantee any support from them or our local government, grocery franchises and food organizations. After this disappointing conversation with the representative of our local food bank I opened my mail for today. A miracle was in the mail from Sarah, coming through in a great time of need. We were down to the last loaf of bread and flat of water, truthfully. It is truly up to us as citizens to feed those who have less..we all need a helping hand at one time or another.

Tally to date   535 fed

Next Installment: Coming Soon

donations welcome: wennyeedwards@comcast.net,

 120 Portola Dr. #12  SFCA, 94131 or PO Box 14491 SFCA 94114 

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

