MONDAY MORNING what a day it was

Today started out lovely and I had a good feeling, the weather was warm  it was just right and I didn’t have the wacky Monday blues. As I walked down the main street, in their little alcove were the couple I have grown fun of.  Asking them how they were and how was the weekend for them? The lady told me they were good and hoped I was coming by. Giving them two packs( one peanut butter and the other bologna) and bottles of water, I notice the women was sewing. I commented about the good job she was doing by hand which she explain how out there on the street she make clothes for herself. How ingenious I was thinking, make do with what you need to make do with…if I come across material I will make sure she gets it.

My path was crisscrossing several hungry people before reaching the main intersection where two young people were lying on the sidewalk. When I got closer I could see they were  the two who had a shouting match with each other a couple days ago. I approach them anyway not knowing what I might meet. Wasn’t surprise or startled when the male said’ “I don’t trust you.”  I wasn’t insulted or went into a chatty conversation against his belief. I simply said, “ok” and started crossing the intersection when I heard someone behind me speaking. I was busy getting across the street before the  light changed against me and didn’t turn around. Once on the sidewalk standing beside me was the young male with matted hair and dirty bare feet. He was about the age where young adults have their’ psychotic break’ and he appeared to be in that state. Stuttering he said,” I’ll take some water, I remember you now you gave me food before and I want a sandwich.” I kept my comments to myself and just said, ” here you go..see you another time.”

I was out of bread for tomorrow’s sandwiches so I darted inside the grocers and on my walk through the parking lot was an old man with mental difficulties . He looked as if he had been on the streets awhile, his cart was somewhat organize. Here was a woman standing before him with pearls asking if he wanted a sandwich and water. His look was priceless but gladly accepted the food. Bread purchased and back on the streets  when I noticed a women walking towards me with a bag cart filled with discarded plastic bottles ( it was a small haul compared to others).  Someone I recognized from another neighborhood, I asked if she would like a sandwich and water. ” I am so hungry, she said You gave me food before when I was in the Mission” (the Mission is our adjacent neighborhood). When I had given her the food and water she became jittery and said, ” I want to give you a hug but I don’t want to get my dirt on you it my be itchy.”  I told her it was okay to give me a hug( most on the street have little or no human intimacy and touch is food for the Soul). She realized she was cutting it close to the time the closing of the Recycle Center and hurried away. Looking over her shoulder she yelled out, “I love you” and I responded “I love you too”. This mode of emotion has happened to me twice from those living on the street. My business partner Phil and I believe Spirit present those who are in desperate need of  human care on a particular day…food for the body and touch for the Spirit..

Blessings All

Next Installment: Coming Soon

donations welcome-wennyeedwards@comcast.net

P/W Inc FEEDING THE HUNGRY

PO Box 14491 San Francisco, Ca. 94114 or 120 Portola Dr #12 San Francisco, Ca. 94131

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MONDAY MORNING what a day it was

  1. Pingback: MONDAY MORNING what a day it was | Wennye7's Blog

Leave a Reply

