A MOB

Leaving the dry cleaners I stopped to offer an olden European gentleman who collects bottles and cans probably to turn in for cash, food and water. We had contact before and was comfortable talking, he asked if I had seen a man on Sanchez who is always standing. I knew who he was describing and said so. I had offered food to him many times though he always refused. This man was rank with odour but I would always acknowledge him there by speaking. The gentleman begin telling me why he stood always leaning some on his full cart. In San Francisco there is a law between 7am until 11pm you can be cited if sitting or lying on the street. Of course many homeless ignore it and steal shut-eye during the day when it is safer for them. We parted when I saw crossing the street a lady and man.

The man was pushing her in a wheelchair, recognizing them I tried to reach the corner before they did which was a coin toss. He was on a roll and picking up speed so I had to holler after him. The women turned and he slowed up giving me a slight smile I asked , “do you remember me?” He said, “now I do” and looking at her I said” I know you do , I gave you water and a sandwich before.. . You asked me to open the water for you.”   Not realizing how close to the hubbub of  the younger homeless populace. I asked the couple if they would like food or water which they did. Overhearing me though they waited their turn to ask for food. I only had eight , passed out two before reaching the husband and wife leaving me four and their were more than that waiting.  I had not moved off the block yet so I quickly gave out three packs not all got water and left with a guy following me across the street against the light asking if I had anymore food. “No ”  I said,  I wanted to see if any of the regulars were out today. Another couple was half a block away who had no food and was glad to share the peanut butter sandwich pack . They also gave me a heads up about the new faces I saw on the streets, they are  from out-of-town and pushy. My day was over within an hour from the streets. ..

Blessings All

Next Installment: Coming Soon

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

