G-O-A-L

At the end of August with the help of loving family, dearest friends old and new we will reach the 500 goal  for FEEDING THE HUNGRY on San Francisco streets. The miracle embracing this Project when our bank resources are down to 10.00 dollars is amazing! This happened this week and in the mail was a money order for 50.00 given by Mrs. Duncan with a note saying how proud she is of my business partner and me.  We are only the human form out here on the streets, the Unseen is the guidance.

Ending this week with people out looking for the food cart, many too late and those whom I did come across wanted extra. Sadly I had to decline , I only will give one per person so others get a meal that day.

I am planning to offer peanut butter sandwiches as and alternative to those who do not eat meat. Phil, jokingly says “if we had a truck filled with sandwiches it still would not feed all on the streets” However we are going to try to expand from 8 sandwiches to 10 per day. It is hard now walking carrying food and 8 bottles of water even using ‘Carley cart’ (name I gave to my food cart). 

Today was a nice way to end my week, coming across four new homeless men within two blocks after getting off my bus. When I say to most “would you like a bottle of water and a sandwich?” they are surprised to see all that is inside the packs along with the sandwich. This pleases them so, Phil says “it’s like getting a Christmas present”. After missing me twice this week ‘snaggertooth’ was out looking for me. I caught up with him as he stopped to sit on a brick wall near an outside cafe. Probably waiting for a patron leaving to give him some morsel of a leftover. When he heard my voice and then upon seeing me flashed his wide grin. I told him I had made a special pack for him (it had crackers instead of peanuts because it may be difficult for him to eat). Of course I didn’t tell him that was the reason and he didn’t seem curious as to why.

I finished up earlier today than usual and with the last pack I was going to look for the elderly man I came upon a couple of days ago. He was sitting on a corner off the main through way and blocks out of my regular route. As I was turning down the street that would take me to where he sits a man to my right asked if I has two quarters. Under no circumstances do I give out money, that would open up a can of worms. I said ” no money but I do have a sandwich sorry out of water.” “I’ll take the sandwich”, he said to me trying to look inside of the bag as I was pulling it out. We talked a little about how he could get a cup of water years ago at pretty much any restaurant. He didn’t know this America, he actually said that clearly and concisely and I agreed.

Weekend is the time to refurbish the larder adding peanut butter and jelly..

Blessings All

NEXT INSTALLMENT: Coming Soon

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

