EYES THAT ARE WIDE SHUT AS ARE MINDS

I had to write today..this was like none other in the two months we begun creating the Project. With part of the donations from our friend Roxie, I visited the Walgreens that allows us an employee discount for items towards the Project FEEDING THE HUNGRY. Today I wanted a large bag of separately wrapped candies to go into the sandwich packs. As I was paying , I engaged in a discussion with an extremely nice associate who has noticed a lot of homeless teens. I took time and so did he to discuss the reason there are many more on the streets. I explained to him as I find I am doing it  a lot to many people in my culture who (not him) believe they are lazy. Many of the kids are Gay, Addicts and or mentally hurting and have been displaced by parents, foster parents or hospitals..some leave on their own volition. So the street is educating them unfortunately in ways we don’t want to look at, plus if they are not fed they steal etc. Many good people who  fair-minded are made uncomfortable when seeing people on the street without shelter and food. I have even been ask “Why do this? Keep your money they can get a job” my reply is “where? the jobs they would get after finding some place to clean them up and feed them are given to the BA’s , MA’s and PhD’s!”

I started on my journey with those thoughts in my head, coming upon the couple whom I have fed, asked ” If I had any food because they were so hungry!” This took me back, continuing the male said “We had nothing to eat yesterday at all .” I told them I was out looking for them and quickly gave them food and water. The male was shaking as he was waiting for me to give him a pack. Leaving them I approach the next block , there I found a half-naked mentally disturbed man sitting on the steps to Safeway’s parking lot and store. Interrupting his ‘air stare’ and flighty movements,  he wanted the food and water (people is there a job for him?). This brought over two more men on the street  for food. Yesterday had more alcoholics and today was for the mentally challenge ( how about these guys.. jobs out there for them?).

We are only putting daily band-aid’s on the hunger problem but it is something , no questions asked.

Blessings All

 

Next Installment: Coming Soon

 

 

 

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

