SOMETIMES IT SEEMS LIKE AN IMPOSSIBLE DREAM

Leaving a little later today because of course ‘the Olympics’ are on!  When I did get out it was clear many were sleeping in as I walked down several blocks. The first person I saw half a block away was ‘snaggertooth’ waiting for me. I was pleased to see he was alright and he was glad to see me with lunch, we spoke briefly which was probably all he was ready for.. I probably was the first person he had spoken to today.  Continuing on my way down the street I met a women walking towards me wrapped in a blanket, she actually looked as if she could have been released from General Hospital  after they cleaned her up and shaved her head for bugs. I asked her if she “wanted a sandwich and bottled water?” and softly she said “yes” and after receiving them she gave me an audible ‘thank you’.  As I turned to go ahead there was a young women coming up the street pushing a store basket filled with black plastic bags (later realize bottles were inside ), knowing she saw me giving food away I offered her a pack. She hesitated then accepted, I saw her when I doubled back going into the recycle center.

Usually on Mondays I come across many who went on binges during the weekend and this Monday was no exception. Came upon a guy casually dressed but stylish was leaning against a wall on the sidewalk. As us old timers would say ‘drunk as a skunk’ as if a skunk is ever drunk. Anyway I woke him up asking if he needed water and food. Well that set him off on a crying jag so I repeated my question. He shook his head “yes” but continued laying there. I told him he had to sit up and take it, he did and then I could see he was hiding a pint of Gin. Then he covered his eyes with his hand and acted like he was crying. I told him he needed to drink some water , sitting up he stared at the pack of food then began eating. I left him before he started crying again. I walked further down Market street because I had one pack left and came up on my Filipina lady whom I have given packs before. She asked me if I had any water or snacks..I showed her what I was giving away and she actually said , “Oh good ! You have peanut butter crackers, I’ll take one”  They do know what they want…after thanking me, I left.

 

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SOMETIMES IT SEEMS LIKE AN IMPOSSIBLE DREAM

Leave a Reply

