ALMOST THREE HUNDRED FED

 Tomorrow we will go over the three hundred mark goal set in the beginning of this project to feed the hungry on our streets. This is sad and joyful at the same time.

While I was out looking for people, I noticed many going to the recycle station with large lawn bags filled with  glass bottles and plastic. There were mothers, children old and young rolling these bags on whatever they had that would roll. This was a first.. seeing such a diversity of people going to the center. Not the ‘street people’ anymore it is the low and middle class.

I came upon a greying man selling ‘Street Sheets’ ( homeless newspaper to earn money) in front of Walgreens Drugs. He locked eyes with me and asked me if I remembered him saying, “You are a classy lady”  when I gave him food before…I didn’t but thanked him for the compliment. 

Now, after the weekends I come across plenty who are coming off  drinking binges. I expect this and adjust my approach . When I left the man selling the street sheets , a few yards in front of me was such a person. I have no idea how he was even standing, it’s funny now how he was trying to flirt with me as I was offering him food. He was able to focus on what I was saying to him to tell me he only wanted a sandwich and that he was from Missouri , had I heard of it? Time to take stage left…

Crossing the street I came upon a young fellow sitting in front of the public toilet booth, asking him if he was hungry and would like a bottle of water. Answering me in a slang phrase that meant yes, I proceeded  to pull out the pack and water. A man stepped out of the booth and said, “Could I have some food too?” “Well of course you can ” I said. “Can  I have one for my lady friend?” he asked. I don’t know why it bothered me that he asked, but I immediately said to him “No.. you may share yours with  her, I have other people to feed who are hungry like you.” I never saw the lady friend…

I am glad I held on to the last two packs and water, walking further were two men (not together) looked ( Spiritually/Hopefully) lost. They were both thankful and ended my journey with “God Bless You, and have a fine evening”.

Being Pollyanna isn’t too bad after all..

Blessings All

Next Installment: All We Need Is Love, Love, Love 

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

