ENDING the WEEK

WOW!  What an ending to this week, I received food supplies today. My dear business partner Phil, spent a sizable amount to get food for the hungry that should last about 3 weeks. I have been so moved by the generosity of our community that I sent President Obama, an email describing the project to feed the hungry.

I had to pick up my prescription from Walgreens and as I was about to enter a man pushing a cart gave me a timid smile. It took me a second to recall his face then he spoke , “hi I saw you on Market Street the other day.” “Yes, I said would you like water or a sandwich?” “I’ll take a sandwich , have water already” he said. Encouraging him to drink , he assured me he was because of a sinus problem. Before I realized it I said, ” See you later sweetie”.

The next person was a man who seemed somewhat mentally challenge but in good spirits also well-kept. He greeted me so I offered him food and water which he accepted . Now both thanked me with a strong GOD Bless You . I am learning how to stay humble when this blessing is bestowed upon me. I thank them from my heart now and not just give it word service. They have changed me so much in receiving them and looking beyond their outer appearance.

I came across the couple which they greeted me like an old friend , letting me know they were ok (their word) for now as far as for food. Thanking me any way for checking on them. I asked several people who were on my path that graciously said they were alright and thank me for doing this for the homeless.

There were several that I misjudged if they were in need of food. Not being put off by my inquiry they kindly declined but thanked me anyway. I then came across a young man carry everything he owned on his back and in a rolling carry case, accepted the food and water happily. The last young man was not very pleasant initially but did listened and mumble something, I handed him te food as he proceeded to walk away and had to call after him to take his water, which he did clearly said thank you. As I walked away I wondered what that was all about as he could speak and clearly.

Well, it is the weekend and I need to regroup with small supplies so I will not pass out food packs Saturday or Sunday.

Blessings All

Next Installment:  Almost Three Hundred Fed

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

