WOMEN and the TWINS

Over the weeks I have developed an interest in several of the regulars of the streets…  I mentioned before about “Snaggatooth” however there are others that I look for when I pass out the food packs.  The young men that I wrote of in a doorway turned out to be a set of twins. Whatever their story may be they are on the street …and kind of my favorites. After several weeks of trusting me we exchanged names. I look for them everyday hoping they had a safe night.

Women by themselves are rare however they are out there. One such lady is from South Seas heritage and has her possessions housed inside of a cart. She is about 45 years of age and her skin is weathered. This lady has shown graciousness the times I have given her food, even reminding her to eat the fruit did not put her off.

Another women has been on the street many years , I use to watch her bundled up on our cold foggy rainy days. Always sleeping while leaning against a wall of some closed storefront. Though friendly each day when asking if she wanted water or a sandwich, she decline by saying “I’m alright, thank you”. Each day that I see her we just speak and sometimes that is enough for many of them.

Yesterday came across an older women sitting on the seats where people wait to catch the bus.  Her belongings on one seat as she sat on the other with her head bent down and surgical socks on her feet. Immediately I thought she may have been release from the hospital and approached asking if she needed some water and food. Never looking up she just said “no”. I left her but she stayed on my mind as I went on my trek. Today she was in the same spot and again I asked if she needed water or food, this time she raised her head ever so slightly and said ” I have water , thank you”.  I felt I was getting her to trust me.

Many of the People On The Street are reluctant to accept anything from strangers figuring they want something from them. I have been asked if I belong to a church or why am I doing this, when I respond “There are many people who are hungry and it will get worse”.

Blessings All,

Next Installment: I’m Scared Please Don’t Leave Me

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

