THE PEOPLE OF THE STREET

When I began this journey I did’nt have an idea of  which people were to receive the sandwiches. There were many;  from the street kids who would prefer you gave them money for whatever to the cart pushing homeless. In between them are the ones without friends or carts, just the body smells and filthy clothes.

I just started walking ..looking..before long there was a man talking to himself.  I approached him with my heart-felt introduction ( I really was not afraid), to my amazement he stopped looked at me and listen. He said ” Yes”, after receiving the food and water I got ” thank you ma’am God bless you” .  Now I am on a roll ...though the hand sack I carried the food packs and water was getting so so heavy.

My next encounter was with a couple who set up a living area next to two vacated shops. My exchange was mostly with the women , being very respectful I offered her a pack and water. Asking her about her partner and if he would like one as well she, she told me he needed water most of all. I pass this to him as well as the food…again the graciousness of  the “people” on the street takes your breath away. They became regulars during the month of May.  Leaving them I came across a man who I call affectionally  “snaggatooth”. He would not look at me as I spoke to him but did listen and accepted the food and water, he later became a regular and now smiles with a few words of gratitude.

I have only walked two blocks and have only two packs left and come upon two young men in a doorway of a closed resturant . They have a dirty blanket which one is covered under it, I asked the one that was awake if they wanted water and sandwiches. He ask what kind of sandwiches I had, I told him then he ask if I had peanutbutter. You can imagine how this took me back a little. However I did explain to him some people are allergic to nuts so meat is the main course. He was statisfied with the crackers that had peanutbutter and took the packs for himself and the person under the cover.

I could not wait to share the day with my friend and business partner, Phil who gives me encouragement and additional ideas for the People of the Street.

Blessings All

Next Installment:  Women and The Twins

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

