“FEEDING THE HUNGRY”

This is the name of the project my friend and I created after witnessing people in San Francisco daily eating out of the public trash recipicles. One day while waiting for my community bus to arrive to take me home to Twin Peaks and void of the chatter in my head. I watched a man who was obvious a street dweller rambling through street trash  for something edible or drinkable. I was transfixed on him as he pulled out a discarded piece of something and began eating. I became queasy immediately and turned away to avoid his embarrassment and mine.

After I arrived home with this visual impressioned in my soul a package was waiting for me, it was from my son the Artist whom I had commission to do a portrait of Mother Teresa for my dear friend. THIS WAS MY EPIPHANY !! My road sign to how I could be of help immediately..make at least five sandwiches as often as possible and pass them out.  I had no idea the gifts I have received stemming from that first thought of five sandwiches.

A senior living on a fixed income would have to take some juggling of money to get bread and a package of bologna. So I went into our local Safeway and as Spirit would have it two packs of bologna for five dollars and two loaves of bread five dollars, I was so giddy. I started formulating what I wanted to go with the packs. I had at home a couple boxes of granola bars and many many small anti bacterial hand sanitizers you get at the Dollar Store. With the money I saved on the food I realized people living on the street do not have access to what is free to all living beings “water”. 

 The next day I decided with the packs in an insulated tote I would stop at Walgreens Drugs and pick up five waters. I decided to talk with the manager Ricky, (didn’t have anything to lose ) about discount on daily purchase of water. YES YES YES was the response. I am now ready to feed five of my brothers and sisiters.

What a beautiful experience they give me for so little..their thank yous, may God Bless You and sometimes broken items they want to give to me to say thank you.

Next installment ” My Human Angel who came to Help”

 "Spirits Helper"

P/W Inc. “Feeding the Hungry”

 

About wennye7

I live in beautiful San Francisco Bay Area, though inwardly not so. There are so many sheltered by the streets and without so my best friend and I decided we needed to act. We created the project " FEEDING THE HUNGRY" to feed five days of the week. We have fed 242 to date starting May 1st, goal 500 people. July 31st we have now fed 364 on the streets of our city.
This entry was posted in FEEDING THE HUNGRY on the streets of San Francisco Ca.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “FEEDING THE HUNGRY”

  1. Monie says:

    This simply a wonderful… Heart felt story!
    I know you will continue to be blessed as well as those you are helping! What a joy .. such purposeful living! Love ya too! 

Leave a Reply

